Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

Today, CMS released the 2021 Restructured BETOS Classification System (RBCS) – a taxonomy that allows researchers to group healthcare service codes for Medicare Part B services into clinically meaningful categories and subcategories. The RBCS is an update to the Berenson-Eggers Type of Service (BETOS) classification system developed in the 1980s.

This update includes healthcare services over a 5-year period (2015-2019) and moves the time period forward one year by dropping the earliest year (2014) and adding the most recent year of data (2019). The 2021 RBCS accounts $1.1 trillion of Part B spending, which is an increase of $45 billion in total spending captured from 2020. Of this additional spending, nearly $5 billion came from new HCPCS codes.​

To access the RBCS, please visit the following website:

You’re getting this message because you subscribed to get email updates from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

Update your subscriptions, modify your password or email address, or stop subscriptions at any time on your Subscriber Preferences Page. You will need to use your email address to log in. If you have questions or problems with the subscription service, please contact

This service is provided to you at no charge by Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s